Asian Cup 2022: Complete list of winners in 14 editions since 1984

The Asian Cup is due to take place in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from Saturday August 27. A total of six teams will take part in the 2022 Asian Cup tournament. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are the confirmed participants. The winner of a qualifying tournament, already underway in Oman, will join India and Pakistan in Group A. Singapore, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait and Hong Kong are the teams taking part in the FIFA Cup qualifiers. ‘Asia.

Notably, India will enter the tournament as defending champions and they are the most successful team in Asian Cup history with seven titles (1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010 , 2016, 2018). Sri Lanka is second on the list with five titles, followed by Pakistan who have won the title twice.

Here we take a look at all the former Asian Cup winners since 1984:

Asian Cup 1984: India

The United Arab Emirates hosted the first edition of the Rothmans Asia Cup in 1984 and the tournament featured only three teams – India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan. India led by Sunil Gavaskar won the inaugural Asian Cup as they topped the points table, winning both of their matches, securing eight points.

1986 Asian Cup: Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka hosted the second edition of the Asian Cup in 1986, while India sat out the tournament due to strained cricketing relations with the island nation. In their absence, the hosts as well as Pakistan and Bangladesh participated in the tournament. Under Duleep Mendis, Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by five wickets in the final and lifted the trophy.

Asian Cup 1988: India

The Indian team not only made a comeback in the tournament but also won it in 1988 beating defending champions Sri Lanka in the final by six wickets. Dilip Vengsarkar was the Indian skipper during the tournament which took place in Bangladesh.

1990-91 Asian Cup: India

India hosted the 1990-91 Asian Cup and also won it to retain their title. The hosts beat Sri Lanka in the final by seven wickets at Eden Gardens, Calcutta under manager Mohammed Azharuddin. Notably, Pakistan had withdrawn from the tournament due to strained political relations with India.

Asian Cup 1995: India

India, led by Mohammed Azharuddin, won the Asian Cup for the third consecutive time beating Sri Lanka in the final by eight wickets in the United Arab Emirates. The tournament was supposed to take place in 1993, but was canceled due to strained political relations between India and Pakistan.

1997 Asian Cup: Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka hosted the Asian Cup in 1997 and lifted the trophy under manager Arjuna Ranatunga. They beat defending champions India by eight wickets in the final at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo to win the Asian Cup title for the second time.

Asian Cup 2000: Pakistan

Pakistan won their first Asian Cup in 2000 beating Sri Lanka by 39 points in the final, which was held at Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka. The Men in Green were commanded by Moin Khan.

Asian Cup 2004: Sri Lanka

The 2004 Asian Cup was different from previous editions as it saw the participation of a total of six teams – four Asian test nations – India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan and the main associated Asian nations, the Emirates United Arab Emirates and Hong Kong.

Sri Lanka beat India in the final by 25 points at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo to clinch their third Asian Cup title.

Asian Cup 2008: Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka defended their Asian Cup title in 2008 under manager Mahela Jayawardena. They beat India again in the final, this time by 100 points at the National Stadium in Karachi, Pakistan, to claim their fourth Asian Cup trophy.

Asian Cup 2010: India

The Indian side led by MS Dhoni clinched their fifth Asian Cup title in 2010. They beat hosts Sri Lanka by 81 points in the final.

Asian Cup 2012: Pakistan

Host country Bangladesh stunned all the big teams (including India) to advance to the 2012 Asian Cup final. The Tigers were even close to securing their first major international title, ahead of a huge home crowd but fate had other plans as they lost to Pakistan by just 2 points in a thrilling contest. As a result, Pakistan won their second Asian Cup title under Misbah-ul-Haq’s management.

Asian Cup 2014: Sri Lanka

Under Angelo Mathews, Sri Lanka won their fifth Asian Cup title in 2014 by beating Pakistan by 5 wickets in the final at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur.

Asian Cup 2016: India

The skipper of Indian team MS Dhoni won his second Asian Cup title as leaders in 2016. The Men in Blue beat Bangladesh by eight wickets in the final game to win the first ever T20I version of the tournament, which took place in Bangladesh.

Asian Cup 2018: India

The Indian team defended their Asian Cup title and won it for the seventh time by beating Bangladesh in the final by three wickets at the Dubai International Stadium.

Read all Recent news, New trends, Cricket News, bollywood news, India News and Entertainment News here. follow us on Facebook, Twitter and instagram.