Varuna Announces 2022 Writer’s Space Fellows

Varuna, the National House of Writers, has announced the recipients of the 2022 Writer’s Space Fellowships for Writers with Disabilities or Deaf.

The fellowship program is open to writers based anywhere in Australia, offering six in-person and six online residencies over a two-week period for writers to develop their manuscripts.

The beneficiaries of the residential scholarships are:

  • Sophie Beer for ‘Thunderhead’
  • Julie Dickson for “The Map From Me to You”
  • Louise Falconer for “The Opposition”
  • Olivia Muscat for “I don’t want to be your friend”
  • Andi Spark for “Other Mummies”
  • Steven Widders for “The Man of Vision”.

The recipients of the online scholarships are:

  • Catherine Johnstone for “The New Berries of a Lilly Pilly”
  • Tim Loveday for “These Bloody Animals”
  • Carly Jay Metcalfe for “Breath”
  • Madeleine Ruskin for “Guilty Creatures”
  • Stefan Sabatini for “The Other Side of Love”
  • Danae Sweetapple for ‘Hindsight’.

Elizabeth Humphrys, Michelina Sirianni and Rani Tesiram were highly praised by the program’s evaluators, who said the quality of entries was “exceptionally high across a range of genres, which sparked enthusiastic discussion and deliberation among the judges” .

As part of the fellowship, writers will also receive a $1,100 professional development package for mentorship, manuscript consultations, or workshop attendance.

Established last year, the program’s first writing fellows included El Gibbs, Woo-Keun Lim, Fiona Murphy, Jules Jones and Kerri Shying, among others.

For more information on Writer’s Space Fellowships, see the Varuna website.

Category: Awards Local News